Imagine that we could get some people to view our sales page twice. If someone views it twice, they have twice the opportunity to purchase.
Now, instead of having 100 views to our sales page, we can have 150 views to our sales page. If we have 150 views to our sales page times 8% conversion, because we’ve optimized the email campaign and the sales page itself, we’re able to generate 12 sales. Which is 12% conversion to our list.
Now you may say “I don’t want to do anything with the sales page. I don’t want to improve the sales page at all. All I want to focus on is just improving the number of people that go over there.”
Okay, great. So we leave the sales page conversion rate at 4%. We have 15 visitors to our sales page, we’re now going to make 6 sales.
Notice, we are still increasing the sales from 2 sales to 6 sales. We’re tripling sales. The only thing we’re doing is getting more people to view the sales page.
The question is, how do we get more people to view the sales page?
Let us imagine that you have written in a vacuum. When I say a vacuum, you sat down one afternoon and you’ve written without having any customer feedback.
You’ve written a 20 email sequence. Every one of the emails recommends people to go over to your sales page.
Note I’m using this as an example – if you were listening to me teach you how to write an email campaign, I would not recommend that every email goes to your sales page. I would probably recommend that 1/3rd of them goes to your sales page. 1/3rd of them would just be great content. And 1/3rd of them might go to a high-ticket program that you have. That’s kind of a different ballgame. I’m just using this as an example.
I want you to grasp a concept.
So you’ve written 20 emails in a vacuum. You send those emails out to 100 people in your auto-responder. Email 1 might have a 20% open rate, and a 10% click-through rate. What does that mean? If 100 people receive email 1, with a 10% click-through rate, you’re going to get 10 visits to your sales page. Remember now, we’re talking about this idea of getting 100 visits to your sales page out of 100 people. You might get 10 on the 1st day.
On the 2nd day you also send 100 emails out, and you have a 15% open rate, and you have a 7% click-through rate for 7 visits.
On day 3 you send the same 100 out, you get a 10% open rate, you get a 5% click-through rate. So now you get 5 visits. So by day 3, you have 10 + 7 + 5, so you have 22 visits after day 3 (towards the goal of 100). Remember at 4% conversion rate, in order to make 4 sales, you need these 100 visits. Now if we just keep doing this out 20 days. Let’s just imagine that we get to 100 visits.
So day 4 is 100 people, maybe you get a 12% open rate, maybe a 6% click-through rate, so you get 6 visits on day 4.
Let’s just keep going, let’s just imagine day 12 has an 8% open rate, and a 2% click-through rate. You’ll get 2 visits on day 12.
We could do this all the way out. You can actually write it out on a sheet of paper. Just write out 20 days and put imaginary click-through rates and open rate. If you have an auto-responder account, you just go in and look at your 1st 20 emails. Look at all your open and click-through rates.
There’s a funny thing about open and click-through rates. 50% of your open rates are higher than 50% of your open rates. Meaning that half of your open rates are going to be average or above. And half are going to be average or below. That’s just a statistical figure that always happens. So 50% of your open rates are going to be above or at average. 50% are going to be average or below. You add them all up and divide it in.
The same thing with clicks. Half of them are going to be above average, and half of them are going to be below average.
Let’s just say that, to get 100 visits to your website sales page, out of 20 emails going to 100 people, you need 5 visits per email. An average of 5.
Let’s just imagine that you have a well-performing email campaign that gets 5 visits per day, per 100 people. That will get you to 100 visits in your 1st 20 days.
If there’s an average, some emails get 10 visits. Some emails get 12 visits. Some emails get 2 visits. What would happen if you got rid of the 10 emails that only have 2 visits each? And you only had left the 10 emails that were above average, and maybe had 8 visits average each?
Imagine if you have 20 emails, 10 of them are accounting for 80 visits, and 10 of them are accounting for 20 visits. If you were to get rid of the 10 emails that are accounting for 20 visits, and are left with the 10 emails that get 80 visits…
…and you were to write 10 new emails that were to perform at the old average of 5 visits per email you would now have 10 emails that get your 8 visits each on average. And you would have 10 emails that get you 5 visits each. The average would be 8 plus 5 divided by 2, or 6.5, times 20 emails you would now have 130 visits instead of 100. Times the same 4%, we’re doing nothing to increase conversion on the sales page. You could, but for this example we’re doing nothing. Times 4%, you would now be getting 5.2 sales instead of 4 sales per 100. Isn’t this exciting?
If we look at this average again. We find that the average across the board is 6.5. Because remember, in those lower 10 emails where the average was 5, some of those emails were getting 10 visits each. Some were getting 12 visits each.
Let’s imagine that we do a 3rd iteration.
By the way, this takes time. This really does. This takes might take a couple months to do the first iteration. A couple months to do the second one. The timimg really depends on how much traffic you’re getting.
Let’s say that we go to the third iteration. We now have 20 emails in our 3rd iteration. 5 of those emails are getting 10 visits each for 50. 5 emails are getting 8 visits each for 40. Now we’ve got 90 visits from our 10 emails. Which means the other 10 emails are only getting 40. Once again we drop off the lowest performing emails. Now what we do is we study the emails that are getting 8 or 10 visits. Remember, there may be emails in there that are getting 14 visits, or 18 visits that are skewing the numbers.
What we’re going to do in our 3rd iteration is write 10 more emails, but we’re going to do our best to make these high performing emails based on our knowledge of what converts to our list.
When we get done with this we should have 20 emails that are averaging 8 to 10 visits each.
Now we have 20 emails getting 8 to 10 visits each. We’re getting 160 to 200 visits. If we do the math: 200 times 4%, now we’re making 8 sales. We’ve done nothing to our sales page.
We could optimize our sales page, and double it again. We’re just looking at email campaign.
Notice, I have not talked at all about how to write an email campaign. I’ve not talked about how to write a great email. You don’t need to know that to take the average of all the emails you’ve written. Go in with whatever knowledge that you have – whether you learned it from me, learned it from somebody else, whether you’ve figured it out on your own, whether you got it from God, wherever you got it from!
Take what you know and just write 20 emails. There will be some average. Take the half that performs and double that half. Let it run for a few more months. Chop off the worst performing. Just work with the ones that work. Over time your average email will perform at a higher and higher level.
If you were to do this for a year or two, you might find that you could have 20 emails with an average of 15 visits each. What would that give you? That would give you 300 visits per 100 subscribers. Multiply by the 4% sales letter conversion rate, and thatwould now give you 12 sales per 100 subscribers, instead of 2 sales. Once again, we have done nothing for the conversion rate on the sales page.
I’m not in any way suggesting that you not optimize your sales page. What I am trying to do is make a vivid point here that this method stands on its own.
And that if you will use just this method, you will increase sales.S